Dragons in a Bag

Random House

Zetta Elliott

Born in Ajax, Ontario, Zetta Elliott moved to the US in 1994 to pursue her PhD in American Studies at NYU. She is the author of over thirty books for young readers, including the award-winning picture books BIRD and MELENA’S JUBILEE. Her urban fantasy novel, SHIP OF SOULS, was named a Booklist Top Ten Sci-fi/Fantasy Title for Youth; her YA time-travel novel, THE DOOR AT THE CROSSROADS, was a finalist in the Speculative Fiction category of the 2017 Cybils Awards. DRAGONS IN A BAG, a middle grade fantasy novel, was published by Random House in 2018; it was named an American Library Association Notable Children’s Book. The sequel, THE DRAGON THIEF, will be published in October 2019. Her poetry has been published in several anthologies, including WE RISE, WE RESIST, WE RAISE OUR VOICES and NEW DAUGHTERS OF AFRICA; her own young adult poetry collection, SAY HER NAME, will be published by Disney/Jump at the Sun in January. Her next picture book, A PLACE INSIDE OF ME, will be published by FSG in July 2020. Elliott is an advocate for greater diversity and equity in children’s literature; her essays have appeared in The Toronto Star, School Library Journal, and Publishers Weekly. Her plays have been staged in Cleveland, New York, and Chicago. She lives in Pennsylvania.


Bird (Lee & Low; Fall 2008)
A Wish After Midnight (Skyscape; Winter 2010)
Ship of Souls (Skyscape; Winter 2012)
The Deep (Rosetta Press; Fall 2013)
The Phoenix on Barkley Street (Rosetta Press; Spring 2014)
Room in My Heart (Rosetta Press; Spring 2014)
The Boy in the Bubble (Rosetta Press; Spring 2014)
Max Loves Muñecas! (Rosetta Press; Spring 2014)
The Magic Mirror (Rosetta Press; Fall 2014)
The Girl Who Swallowed the Sun (Rosetta Press; Fall 2014)
The Last Bunny in Brooklyn (Rosetta Press; Fall 2014)
Fox & Crow: a Christmas Tale (Rosetta Press; Winter 2014)
An Angel for Mariqua (Rosetta Press; Winter 2014)
A Wave Came Through Our Window (Rosetta Press; Summer 2015)
I Love Snow! (Rosetta Press; Summer 2015)
Dayshaun’s Gift (Rosetta Press; Fall 2015)
Let the Faithful Come (Rosetta Press; Fall 2015)
Let the Faithful Come/ Dejen venir a los fieles (Rosetta Press; Winter 2015)
Max Loves Muñecas! Spanish edition (Rosetta Press; Winter 2015)
A Hand to Hold (Rosetta Press; Winter 2016)
Billie’s Blues (Rosetta Press; Winter 2016)
The Door at the Crossroads (Rosetta Press; Spring 2016)
Milo’s Museum (Rosetta Press; Fall 2016)
Melena’s Jubilee (Tilbury; Fall 2016)
The Ghosts in the Castle (Rosetta Press; Winter 2017)
Mother of the Sea (Rosetta Press; Spring 2017)
Benny Doesn’t Like to Be Hugged (Rosetta Press; Fall 2017)
The Phantom Unicorn (Rosetta Press; Fall 2017)
The Return (Rosetta Press; Winter 2018)
Dragons in a Bag (RH; Fall 2018)
We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voice anthology (Random House; Fall 2018)
Everyone Has a Story to Tell (Rosetta Press; Fall 2018)
Cin’s Mark (Rosetta Press; Fall 2018)
Find Your Voice (Rosetta Press; Spring 2019)
The Dragon Thief (Random House; Fall 2019)
Say Her Name (Disney; Winter 2020)
A Place Inside of Me (FSG; Summer 2020)
Awesome Chevonne (Flyaway Books, 2020)



Twitter: @zettaelliott

Instagram: @zettaelliott

Facebook: @ZettaElliottAuthor