Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Steering Committee



The Forest of Reading has ten individual steering committees that are tasked with responsibilities once the nominated lists have been confirmed. They are the ambassadors of the Forest and they work closely with the nominated authors, illustrators, and publishers. In most cases, they are also practitioners running the programs.

Note: OLA strives to ensure that its staff, committees, and councils are diverse and inclusive in order to best serve the Ontario library community. There is immense value in bringing together various perspectives and ideas. OLA seeks out participation from members with different library experience; members from all regions of Ontario; Indigenous Peoples; and members with diverse backgrounds including but not limited to age, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, and ability. If you have any questions about getting involved, please contact the OLA staff liaison for the committee/council.


The timeline for the school aged programs varies from the adult programs. Below is the schedule:

  • School-aged programs – September to May
  • Evergreen Program – October to September

2024 Steering Committees

Co-Chairs of the Forest of Reading®

Co-Chair: Isabelle Hobbs, Durham District School Board (retired)
Co-Chair: Karen Devonish-Mazzotta, Toronto District School Board
Past-Chair: Ruth Gretsinger, District School Board of Niagara

Blue Spruce Award Logo

Blue Spruce Award™

Stephanie Lamb (Chair)
Amanda Bossuyta, Dani Austin, Erin O’Shea Hart, Laura Bere, Lisa Ainsworth, Mackenzie Hilton, Manda Plava Barclay, Natasha Rankin, Rahima Nulla, Sandra Lewis

Silver Birch Express Award Logo

Silver Birch Express Award®

Brenda Reed & Kate Tuff (Co-Chairs)
Linda Wojton, Rahima Nulla, Sasha Saron, Tracey Donaldson

Silver Birch Fiction Award Logo

Silver Birch Fiction Award®

Lisa Lewis ( Chair)
Alyson Walters, Carys Fisher, Leslie Bethune, Marena Gillen

Yellow Cedar Award Logo

Yellow Cedar Award

Susan Wallwork (Chair)
Anne-Marie Sisti, Carolyn von Hasselbach, Elizabeth Coats, James Steeves, Kristy Simpson, Sandra Lewis

Red Maple Award Logo

Red Maple Award™

Ashley Pamenter & Faith Roebuck Shergold (Co-Chairs)
 Helen Collins, James Steeves, Jess Longthorne, Kimberly De Witte 

White Pine Award Logo

White Pine Award™

Kara Miley & Ashley Pamenter (Co-Chairs)
 Anastasia Lainas, Diana Williams, Elizabeth Coats, Jason Himsl, Jennifer Casa-Todd, Kimberly Daigneau, Kristy Simpson, Serena McGovern, Tazeen Nasir

Le prix Peuplier Award Logo

Le prix Peuplier

Claudine Blanchard, Evy Gambin, Eugenia Doval (Chairs)

Le prix Meleze Award Logo

Le prix Mélèze 

Evy Gambin, Claudine Blanchard, Eugenia Doval (Chairs)

Le prix Tamarac Award Logo

Le prix Tamarac

Eugenia Doval, Claudine Blanchard, Evy Gambin (Chairs)

Evergreen Award Logo

Evergreen Award™

Enid Wray & Julie Wendland (Co-Chairs)