click the book cover for a downloadable version

Only This Beautiful Moment

Written by Abdi Nazemian
Published by Balzer + Bray (imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.)

WATCH HERE – Author Visit released Mar. 20

ACTIVITIES

Discussion Questions — .doc.pdf
Food Game — .doc.pdf
Crossword Puzzle — .doc.pdf
Graphic Novel — .doc.pdf
Educator Guide — .pdf
Teacher Notes — .pdf

BOOK SYNOPSIS

From the Stonewall Honour–winning author of Like a Love Story comes a sweeping story of three generations of boys in the same Iranian family. Perfect for fans of Last Night at the Telegraph Cluband Darius the Great Is Not Okay.

2019. Moud is an out gay teen living in Los Angeles with his distant father, Saeed. When Moud gets the news that his grandfather in Iran is dying, he accompanies his dad to Tehran, where the revelation of family secrets will force Moud into a new understanding of his history, his culture, and himself.

1978. Saeed is an engineering student with a promising future ahead of him in Tehran. But when his parents discover his involvement in the country’s burgeoning revolution, they send him to safety in America, a country Saeed despises. And even worse—he’s forced to live with the American grandmother he never knew existed.

1939. Bobby, the son of a calculating Hollywood stage mother, lands a coveted MGM studio contract. But the fairy-tale world of glamour he’s thrust into has a dark side.

Set against the backdrop of Tehran and Los Angeles, this tale of intergenerational trauma and love is an ode to the fragile bonds of family, the hidden secrets of history, and all the beautiful moments that make us who we are today.

ABDI NAZEMIAN

Abdi Nazemian is the author of five novels including Like a Love Story and his latest, Only This Beautiful Moment. For his literary work, he has received a Lambda Literary Award and a Stonewall Honor. His screenwriting credits include movies such as The Artist’s Wife and The Quiet, and television shows including Ordinary Joe. He has been a producer, executive producer or associate producer on a number of films, including Call Me By Your Name and Little Woods. He lives in Los Angeles with his husband, their two children, and their dog Disco.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Website: abdinazemian.com

Instagram: @abdaddy

Twitter/X: @Abdaddy

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Only This Beautiful Moment (2023)
The Chandler Legacies (2022)
Like a Love Story (2019)
The Authentics (2017)